A Child’s Garden of Verses


Composed by Chee-Hwa Tan, A Child’s Garden of Verses is a collection of eight engaging piano solos. Each piece corresponds with a poem by Robert Louis Stevenson. These pieces are intended to encourage young pianists to explore the inherent value of poetry in music and to be bold in expressing that same poetry in performance.

Product Information: 20 pages. Late Elementary Level.

Click here to view all of Chee-Hwa’s books.

SKU: CHWAGarden Categories: ,


Composed at the late elementary level, A Child’s Garden of Verses is a collection of eight imaginative piano solos. Each piece corresponds with a poem by Robert Louis Stevenson.

Watch SuperScore Video

The titles are as follows:

  1. Keepsake Mill
  2. The Moon
  3. Pirate Story
  4. The Wind
  5. At the Seaside
  6. Where Go the Boats?
  7. My Shadow
  8. The Land of Nod

Click here to listen to The Land of Nod

Click here to listen to The Wind

Chee-Hwa Tan has a passion for nurturing the art and love of music making in pianists of all ages and levels. Her compositions encourage students to explore and express sound images at the piano while developing specific technical skills necessary for artistic playing.

Currently the Head of Piano Pedagogy at the University of Denver Lamont School of Music, Ms. Tan teaches both graduate and undergraduate piano pedagogy. She is a specialist in curriculum development for pre-college piano and class piano teaching and has served on the piano pedagogy faculties at the Oberlin Conservatory and Southern Methodist University. Over the years, her students have distinguished themselves as performers, teachers, and life long music makers.

Additional information

Weight .625 lbs
Purchasing Options

Hardcopy Book (not available in Australia), Single User Digital Book


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “A Child’s Garden of Verses”

You may also like…